Churches have been an intricate part of Miðvágur since the early 16'th century. How many churches there have been is impossible to say, but at least 7 or 8. The first church that is written about, was located close to where the memorial now stands.
The current church
Heini Joensen ( Bónd-Heini - Heini the farmer ) stood in charge of the construction. He did the drawings, handled the workforce both inside and outside. His experience came from building several churches in Norway.
If the plan, to build the church in 1930, had been a reality it would have cost 40.000 crowns. But when it was finished in 1952 the price was 180.000 crowns.
400 people can fit inside the church.
The relics in the church
The challis and the plate are more then 200 years old. The fountain is from even before Arabos priesthood. Mouritz Joensen repaired the fountain when there had been a hole in it. The church-bell cracked and was re-cast, they used the bronze from the old bell and added a bit to make it bigger.
On the alter in the church You will notice two candlesticks. One of them is missing a small piece. The story goes that Beinta, wife of the priest Arabo had and argument with her husband and this resulted in the missing piece.
In 1836 a ship had hit some stormy weather west of Kvivikskor. The crew called for help and men from Bø and Sørvág helped them out. The owner of the ship and its cargo, a man from Iceland called Benadiktsson, was on board the ship. He came to Miðvág to recover from the ordeal. He lived in the old rectory in Jansagerð. The old church was being constructed and Benadiktsson donated the chandelier.
The supreme commander for the area during the second world war, Col. Adamson, has donated several items to the church. Two smaller candlesticks were carved out by and Italian prisoner of war.